Congratulations to the 2017 scholarship recipients.

Would you like to donate to a MindFuel scholarship?

Donate Here

James (Jim) Gray Scholarship recipient

Astha Burande

“I am very grateful to MindFuel and Mr. Jim Gray for awarding me this scholarship to help me begin my post- secondary education at the University of Alberta in the Biological Sciences. This scholarship has assisted me in pursuing my education at an institution that I wanted to study at. Without this scholarship, I probably wouldn’t have gotten the chance to step into’ new waters’. Also, it is helping me to get one step closer to my dream which is to be a doctor and help humanity. I may have an entire staircase to climb but at least I am on the first step now!”



Anne Tingle Scholarship recipient

Tyler Bedier

“I am truly honoured to have received this award. In addition to the financial assistance which is so greatly appreciated, it has inspired a new sense of confidence and a passion to explore information technology and all the future opportunities it holds. My hope is to one day use technology to better peace and security in our country.”


Dr. Arlene Ponting Scholarship recipient

Syed Rizvi

“I am grateful to Mindfuel for presenting me with the Dr. Arlene Ponting Scholarship, and for continuing to support my pursuit in a competitive field like biomedical sciences. To me this scholarship is encouraging because it means there’s someone else there who supports and believes in my abilities. I haven’t had to spend as much time earning money for school and have been able to use that time to network with students and professors, and most importantly partake in research. This scholarship has given me the opportunity to pursue something I’ve been dreaming about doing since high-school. Having the opportunity to work in a lab, talk to people who share my passion, and research topics that I want to do is unbelievable, and for that I am extremely grateful.”

ASTech Foundation Scholarship recipient

Chloe Devoy

“I would like to thank the ASTech foundation for all the opportunities they have provided me with over the last few years, as well as for the support they continue to give as I continue on to post-secondary education. They have helped ignite my passion for science and continue to fuel it. It is an honour to have received this scholarship and I plan to continue contributing to Alberta’s STEM field.”

2016 recipients

James (Jim) Gray Scholarship – Adley Mok

Dr Arlene Ponting Scholarship – Genna Friend

Dr Arlene Ponting Scholarship – Gregory Neagu

Anne Tingle Scholarship – Poshika Dhingra

2015 recipients

James (Jim) Gray Scholarship – Mary Dimaano

Dr Arlene Ponting Scholarship – Jyllenna Wilke

Anne Tingle Scholarship – Sarah Penney